Crutches to the Rescue

Crutches suck big time but it turns out that they happen to have few more uses than the good old getting you from one place to another following an injury – be it a beer holder or a chew toy for your foster rabbit. When you can stand, even if wobbling heavily, on your own two feet again you could even try to pretend it’s a lightsaber or a guitar. Or be the responsible one albeit slightly boring and give them to someone who could use them for, you know, just walking.

Of course the crutches could also be used exactly as prescribed which should at least get you better guns once the lower appendage problem is over. I gave up on using both crutches as soon as I got home, with the whole weekend on my own ahead of me I just had to carry stuff every now and then 😉 My foot wasn’t exactly liking it but hey two weeks on and it actually looks like a foot, the ankle is back and it feels like some running can be done following the recommended 6 weeks of recovery. How very reasonable of me! I had to spend some time with my foot iced and elevated and as any reasonable and only moderately anxious person would, I used this time to extensively google compartment syndrome and nonunion – yikes, seems that a week or two extra of wearing the super ugly rubber boot or non-running may be worth it in the long term.

Hobbling around may be a pain but it also provokes smiles and random conversations with strangers – kindness is not dead and people do care! And according to the popular belief in luck due to turn any time soon, I should play the lottery and the win is pretty much mine. If only it really worked like that 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

